Walk, don’t run!

I was excited to enter my steps from day one into the Global Corporate Challenge mobile app when I woke up this morning.  My total for the day was 12,738 which was far better than I expected.

I was keen to see what my team colleagues had done, but only one of the other team members have entered their steps so far.  This is a little disappointing, as our team are now fairly low in the ranking against the other teams from our organisation.  It’s probably because we still haven’t received the ‘pulse’ devices for recording our steps.  Thankfully, the devices have arrived towards the end of the day, so from tomorrow, I can start using that, and I hope the other team members will soon join in too.

I walked to work this morning, and took the long route to get there – the same journey I used last night on my way home.  I was a little late setting off, and so I tried walking as quickly as I could to get there.  Almost 6,000 steps later,  I arrived at work drenched in sweat with legs like jelly.  Hurrying isn’t a pleasant experience, and I don’t think I’ve ever been so grateful to arrive at work.  I don’t think I could have walked much further.

After a quick wash and getting changed, I got on with my work and settled down.  By lunchtime, I was ready for another go, and managed to do another couple of thousand steps in just under half an hour.  Thankfully, it wasn’t raining today so at least that made it a little more pleasant.

I’ve done just over 10,000 steps today – it’s not quite as much as yesterday, but at least I’ve reached my target for the day.  It still remains to be seen whether my motivation will last.  Having the time to do the walking is going to be the biggest challenge, particularly over the weekend.  If the weather stays reasonably fine, that might encourage me to make a determined effort.  Time will tell.

Leave a Reply

